Recognitions‎ > ‎Archives‎ > ‎

Region 7 Principal Named California's 2017 National Distinguished Principal

posted Aug 27, 2017, 5:26 PM by ACSA Region 7   [ updated Mar 4, 2018, 11:27 AM ]
Scott Borba, Principal of Stroud Elementary School in the Empire Union School District, was named California's 2017 National Distinguished Principal.  He will travel to Washington D.C. in October for two days of activities honoring the elementary and middle-level educators chosen by the states, District of Columbia, and private and overseas schools.  Borba was notified of his award at a school-wide assembly at his school site by ACSA  Educational Services  Executive Alicia Ausara.  

The National Association of Elementary School Principals established the NDP program in 1984 to recognize and celebrate elementary and middle level principals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement, character and climate for the students, families, and staffs in their learning communities.  Criteria for selection of National Distinguished Principals requires that the honorees are active principals of schools whose programs are designed to meet the academic and social needs of all students and where there are firmly established community ties with parents and local businesses.  

Borba believes his involvement in ACSA plays a key role in his career.  He has served as President of the ACSA Stanislaus Charter, Vice-President for Legislative Action for Region 7, and President of the Elementary Education Council.  He currently represents California elementary principals as the state representative for NAESP.  "The relationships I have built in ACSA, at both the local and state level, have provided me with a network of really smart people who all share the same passion to serve students," said Borba.  "I don't think I could do this job without them."

Scott Borba receives word from ACSA  Educational Services Executive Alicia Ausara and 
Empire Union SD Superintendent Dave Garcia at a school-wide assembly
that he was named California's 2017 National Distinguished Principal.